Online Chocolate Tastings via Video Conference

In times of home office, social distancing and travel restrictions, it is not easy to experience something together. Therefore, I am offering online events that start right here. To travel the world - even if only virtually.
Travel the world with chocolate

Travel with chocolate: Around the world

I, Andrea Thurner, Certified Chocolate Taster and founder of “the small batch project”, take you on a virtual chocolate journey. Together we taste dark, handcrafted chocolate from all over the world. In each country we learn something about small artisanal chocolate manufacturers, the culture and history that this country associates with chocolate, as well as a lot of interesting facts about the complex taste of high-quality, fine flavored cocoa with a large variety of its taste.

Each participant will receive a parcel in the mail with about one to two weeks before the event. Our do-it-yourself chocolate tasting set, adjusted for your event. This will then be opened at the event (important: do not eat beforehand - you don't like spoiler alerts, don't you?).

This event is ideal as a team event for companies or for clubs, friends and families who are looking for activities suitable for corona, such as activities during virtual birthday parties.

Options for online chocolate tasting events

You can choose between two approaches. A more technical approach, following the International Institute for Cacao and Chocolate Tasting (IICCT), or our creative tasting by using the colorful aroma map «Taste With Colour».

Chocolate tasting with IICCT

IICT Flavour Wheel

Immerse yourself in the world of your senses! We taste a selection of award-winning bean to bar chocolates with cocoa from different areas of origin and chocolate crafting processes and, with the help of an aroma map, learn to recognize taste notes like a gourmand. With a little practice, you can find more than 100 flavor notes in your chocolate.

Chocolate Tasting with «Taste With Colour»®

Taste with colour
  • The main elements of this workshop are the same as when following the technical approach of the IICCT.
  • The colorful tasting map hints towards creativity and discovery instead of technical details.
  • Each participant also gets a watercolor set and the original "Taste with Colour" map as part of their chocolate tasting delivery.
  • We will aim to use Synesthesia to combine two senses - taste and see.
  • Most importantly, we will taste bean to bar chocolate with vastly different flavor profiles and will use our creativity to express the tasting experience by painting instead of trying to find the perfect word.
  • This exercise might sound ridiculous or childish initially. But it allows us to express the abstract wording to describe taste more nuanced than any single word could ever do. In short, a picture is worth a 1000 words.
  • Nice side-effect: Each participant has something to do hands-on while tasting chocolate, allowing for a relaxed athmosphere. This might be ideal for a more casual team event.

Organizational details

Language: German or English (upon request also in Spanish).

Video Conference: We support this event via Zoom, Microsoft Teams oder Google Meets. For company events we recommend to have this setup by the company itself and we join based on their setup. This guarantees that technology will not be in the way to participate.

Length of the event: Recommended is 1h - 1:15h.

International participants: We need about 3-4 weeks after full confirmation of the event to ensure the packages are received by everyone. So far, we have experience with international, distributed teams in Europe, the USA and also selectively with team members from India.

Costs

The costs are calculated individually depending on your wishes, special requests and the actual value of the chocolate bars selected. The list below is a guide so you have a rough understanding already before discussing details.

If the online tasting has participants in Switzerland only, the price range is between CHF 35 - CHF 80. It depends on the choosen method, the number of chocolate samples or complete chocolate bars and an optional gift for remembering the event.

The total price of about 35 CHF - 80 CHF contains the following:

  • Costs for the event: CHF 20 per participant.
  • Chocolate (complete chocolate bars): Value of chocolate (prices following our online shop).
  • Chocolate samples for the event: CHF 15 per person for 5 chocolate samples and samples of 2 different varieties of pre-roasted, raw cocoa beans.
  • "Taste with Colour" map and watercolor set: CHF 20 per person.
  • Gift or gift card: Optional craft chocolate bars for the time after the event or simply to say thank you to the participants, or a gift card from our online shop. Both following the list price from our online shop.

Book your private event online

Write us with your details, the number of participants, the preferred date(s), individual wishes and budget. With a few emails and a phone conversation, we will quickly find the right option for your private and personal event.

Wir versenden nur bei Temperaturen unter 25°C es kann daher zu Lieferverzögerungen kommen

Online Schokoladen Degustation via Video Konferenz

In Zeiten von Homeoffice, Social Distancing und Reisebeschränkungen ist es nicht einfach, gemeinsam etwas zu erleben. Daher biete ich neu Online Events an, die genau hier ansetzten. Die Welt zu bereisen - auch wenn nur virtuell.
Travel the world with chocolate

 

Schokoladen-Reisen: Einmal um die Welt

Ich, Andrea Thurner, Certified Chocolate Tasterin und Gründerin  von «the small batch project», nehme euch auf eine virtuelle Schokoladenreise mit. Gemeinsam degustieren wir dunkle, handwerklich hergestellte Schokolade aus aller Welt. In jedem Land lernen wir etwas über kleine handwerklichen Schokoladenmanufakturen, die Kultur und Geschichte die dieses Land mit Schokolade verbindet, sowie viel Wissenswertes rund um die Geschmackskomplexität von hochwertigen Kakao mit Vielfalt im Geschmack (Fine Flavored Cocoa).

Jede Teilnehmer*in erhält 1 bis 2 Wochen vor der Veranstaltung ein Päckli per Post mit einem von uns zusammengestellten Schokoladen-Degustationsset für zu Hause. Dieses wird dann bei der Veranstaltung geöffnet (wichtig: nicht vorher essen).

Dieser Event ist ideal als Teamevent für Unternehmen oder auch für Vereine, Freunde und Familien die auf der Suche sind nach Coronatauglichen Aktivitäten sind, wie zum Beispiel Aktivitäten während virtuellen Geburtstagsfeiern.

Optionen der Online Schoggi-Degustation

Sie können zwischen zwei Versanstaltungsoptionen wählen. Degustation nach dem International Institute for Cacao and Chocolate Tasting (IICCT) oder nach der Schokoladengeschmackskarte «Taste With Colour».

Schokoladen Tasting nach IICCT

IICT Flavour Wheel

Tauche in die Welt der Sensorik ein! Wir degustieren eine Auswahl an preisgekrönten bean-to-bar Schokoladen mit Kakao aus verschiedenen Ursprungsgebieten und Herstellungsverfahren und lernen mit Unterstützung von einer Aroma-Landkarte Geschmacksnoten wie ein Gourmand zu erkennen. Mit etwas Übung kannst du mehr als 100 Geschmacksnoten in deiner Schokolade finden.

Schokoladen Tasting  «Taste With Colour» ®

Taste with colour
  • Die Hauptelemente des Workshops bleiben gleich wie bei  der Degustation mit dem IICCT.
  • Die Geschmackslandkarte ist aber viel verspielter und spielt auf Kreativität statt technischen Details ab.
  • Jede Teilnehmer*in erhält neben der Schokolade noch zusätzlich eine "Taste with Colour" Landkarte und Wasserfarben per Post zugeschickt.
  • Wir versuchen hier durch Synästhesie zwei Sinne zu vereinen, in diesem Fall Sehen mit Schmecken.
  • Wir degustieren Bean to Bar Schokolade und versuchen die empfundenen Geschmacksnoten mit Wasserfarben zu malen.
  • Diese Übung bring viele erst zum Lachen, da es eher an ein Kinderspiel  erinnert. Es erlaubt uns aber sich viel intensiver mit dem Geschmacksinn auseinanderzusetzten.
  • Netter Nebeneffekt: Jede Teilnehmer*in hat noch ausser dem degustieren, eine Beschäftigung und es lockert die Atmosphäre - ideal für einen entspannten Team Event.

Details zur Durchführung

Sprache: Deutsch oder Englisch (auf Wunsch auch Spanisch).

Video Konferenz: Veranstaltung kann über Zoom, Microsoft Teams oder Google Meets organisiert werden. Bei einem Firmenevent wird die Konferenz am besten Firmenintern aufgesetzt damit die Teilnehmer*innen keine technischen Hürden haben.

Dauer der Veranstaltung: Emfphlen ist 1h - 1:15h.

Internationale Teilnehmer: Es muss mit mindestens 3-4 Wochen Vorlaufzeit gerechnet werden damit wirklich alle Teilnehmer die Pakete erhalten. Ich habe mittlerweile Erfahrung mit verteilten Teams in Europa, USA und Indien.

Kosten

Die Kosten werden nach detaillierter Absprache, Sonderwünschen und dem tatsächlichen Wert der gewählten Schokoladentafeln verrechnet. Die Liste unten dient als Richtwert.

Für die Online Degustation mit allen Teilnehmer*innen in der Schweiz muss mit ca. 35 CHF - 80 CHF gerechnet werden je nach gewählter Methode, Anzahl Schokoladenmuster bzw. ganzer Tafeln und optionalen Geschenk für die Erinnerung nach der Veranstaltung.

Der Gesamtpreis von ca. 35 CHF - 80 CHF stellt sich in etwa wie folgt zusammen:

  • Veranstaltungskosten: CHF 20 pro Person.
  • Schokolade (ganze Tafeln): Nach Schokoladenwert (preise gemäss Online Shop).
  • Schokolade (Muster): CHF 15 pro Person für 5 Schokoladenmuster und Muster von 2 unterschiedlichen Sorten gerösteter Kakaobohnen.
  • "Taste with Colour" Geschmackskarte und Wasserfarbenkasten: CHF 20 pro Person.
  • Geschenk oder Gutschein: Optionale Schokoladentafel für die Zeit nach der Veranstaltung, oder ein Gutschein in unserem Online Shop. Beides nach Wert gemäss Online Shop.

 

Team Event online buchen

Schreibt uns eure Details, zur Anzahl Teilnehmer, Datum, individuellen Wünschen und Budget. Mit ein paar Emails und einem Gespräch finden wir rasch die passende Option für eure private und persönliche Veranstaltung.