Collection: Menakao

Five generations ago, the Cassam Chenaï family of India settled in the Gujrat region of Madagascar. They created and traded postcards, textiles and finally spices, which were intended solely for export. Over time, Shahin Cassam Chenaï broke away from the growing family and started his own company.

Menakao is the work of women and men from Madagascar

It goes without saying that they wanted to illustrate their chocolate bars with the faces of different ethnic groups that represent the Malagasy people and make up the wealth of Madagascar. The Tanala, the Betsimisaraka, the Mahafaly, the Antanosy, the Bara or the Merina are all represented in their traditional headdresses and dresses. Shahin Cassam Chenaï, would like to remind of the first commercial activities of his family, who sold postcards at the beginning of the 19th century.

MENA means red in Malagasy

Red like the color of the earth, rich in minerals and sediments deposited by the Sambirano River, red like the color of the cocoa pods that come from the best producers in the Sambirano Valley, and red like the color of chocolate.

KAO for cocoa

The cocoa beans come from the best cooperatives in the Sambirano Valley (Ambanja region). They develop their recipes by giving preference to local products (100% of the ingredients are from Madagascar) and premium cocoa beans.

5 products
  • Menakao Cocoa Nibs & Sea Salt 63%
    Menakao Chocolate Cashew & Sea Salt
    Regular price
    SFr. 5.70
    Sale price
    SFr. 5.70
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Menakao Cocoa Nibs & Sea Salt 63%
    Menakao Cocoa Nibs & Sea Salt 63%
    Regular price
    SFr. 5.70
    Sale price
    SFr. 5.70
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Menakao Dark Chocolate 72%
    Menakao Dark Chocolate 72%
    Regular price
    SFr. 5.70
    Sale price
    SFr. 5.70
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Menakao 100% Dark Chocolate Bar & Cocoa Nibs
    Menakao Dark Bar & Cocoa Nibs 100%
    Regular price
    SFr. 5.70
    Sale price
    SFr. 5.70
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Menakao Orange & Cranberries 63%
    Menakao Orange & Cranberries 63%
    Regular price
    SFr. 5.70
    Sale price
    SFr. 5.70
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out

Wir können aufgrund des warmen Wetters nur mit einiger Verzögerung verschicken

 

Kategorie: Menakao

Vor fünf Generationen hat sich die indische Familie Cassam Chenaï in der Region Gujrat in Madagaskar niedergelassen. Sie erstellten und handelten mit Postkarten, Textilien und schließlich mit Gewürzen, die ausschließlich für den Export bestimmt waren. Im Laufe der Zeit löste sich Shahin Cassam Chenaï von der wachsenden Familie, und gründete sein eigenes Unternehmen.

In Menakao steckt die Arbeit von Frauen und Männern aus Madagaskar

Es ist daher selbstverständlich, dass sie ihre Schokoladentafeln mit den Gesichtern verschiedener ethnischer Gruppen, die das madagassische Volk repräsentieren und Reichtum Madagaskars ausmachen, illustrieren wollten. Die Tanala, die Betsimisaraka, die Mahafaly, die Antanosy, die Bara oder die Merina, alle sind in ihren traditionellen Kopfbedeckungen und Kleidern vertreten. Shahin Cassam Chenaï, möchte hiermit auch an die ersten kommerziellen Aktivitäten seiner Familie erinnern, die zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts Postkarten verkauften.

MENA bedeutet auf Madagassisch rot

Rot wie die Farbe der Erde, reich an Mineralien und Sedimenten, die vom Sambirano-Fluss abgelagert werden, rot wie die Farbe der Kakaofrüchte, die von den besten Produzenten des Sambirano-Tals stammen und rot wie die Farbe der Schokolade.

KAO für Kakao

Die Kakaobohnen stammen von den besten Kooperativen im Sambirano-Tal (Region Ambanja). Sie entwickeln ihre Rezepte, indem sie lokale Produkte (100% der Zutaten stammen aus Madagaskar) und Premium-Kakaobohnen bevorzugen.

 

4 Produkte
  • Menakao Cocoa Nibs & Sea Salt 63%
    Menakao Cocoa Nibs & Sea Salt 63%
    Normaler Preis
    SFr. 5.70
    Sonderpreis
    SFr. 5.70
    Normaler Preis
    Einzelpreis
    pro 
    Ausverkauft
  • Menakao Dark Bar & Cocoa Nibs 100%
    Menakao Dark Bar & Cocoa Nibs 100%
    Normaler Preis
    SFr. 5.70
    Sonderpreis
    SFr. 5.70
    Normaler Preis
    Einzelpreis
    pro 
    Ausverkauft
  • Menakao Dark Chocolate 72%
    Menakao Dark Chocolate 72%
    Normaler Preis
    SFr. 5.70
    Sonderpreis
    SFr. 5.70
    Normaler Preis
    Einzelpreis
    pro 
    Ausverkauft
  • Menakao Orange & Cranberries 63%
    Menakao Orange & Cranberries 63%
    Normaler Preis
    SFr. 5.70
    Sonderpreis
    SFr. 5.70
    Normaler Preis
    Einzelpreis
    pro 
    Ausverkauft